SEW-2009 - Semantic Evaluations: Recent Achievements and Future Directions

A NAACL HLT 2009 Workshop, June 4, 2009, Boulder, Colorado, USA

Main    Call for Papers    Program Committee    Submission Instructions    Program

The main purpose of this workshop is to review, analyse and discuss
the latest developments in semantic analysis of text. The fact that this workshop happens between the last Semantic Evaluation exercise (SemEval-2007) and the preparation for the next SemEval in 2010, presents an exciting opportunity to discuss practical and foundational aspects of semantic processing of text.  The workshop targets papers describing both semantic processing systems and evaluation exercises, with special attention to foundational issues in both lexical and propositional semantics, including semantic representation and semantic corpus construction problems.

This workshop is endorsed by SIGLEX, SIGSEM and SIGANN the ACL Special Interest Groups on the LEXicon, Computational SEMantics and ANNotation


May 31, 2009: The set of panelists has been announced. See the workshop program
May 7, 2009: Instructions for presenters have been posted here
April 24, 2009: Workshop program is now available. Check it!
April 20, 2009: Diana McCarthy will be the invited speaker at the workshop. Check the invited talk abstract.
April 20, 2009: Katrin Erk and Carlo Strapparava will lead a discussion panel on SemEval-2010. Stay tuned for the workshop program
April 12
, 2009: Eight regular papers, four short papers, and ten SemEval-2010 task description papers have been accepted for presentation
March 5, 2009: Paper submission deadline has been extended. New deadline: March 9, 11:59pm GMT
November 4, 2008: call for papers and program committee have been posted
September 25, 2008: this website has been posted

Important dates

    March 6, 2009        Paper Submission due
    March 30, 2009      Notification of acceptance
    April 12, 2009         Camera ready papers due
    June 4, 2009            SEW-2009 Workshop

Workshop organizers

    Eneko Agirre, University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU), Basque Country
    Lluí­s Màrquez, Technical University of Catalonia (UPC), Catalonia
    Richard Wicentowski, Swarthmore College, USA

    Contact email:

Last update: June 1, 2009